member LOGIN

micmor description


Helmholtz Research School
Mechanisms and Interactions of Climate Change in Mountain Regions

KIT-Logo in Header3



MICMoR Scientists from KIT/IMK-IFU and its partner institutions TUM, LMU, Universities of Augsburg, Würzburg and Bayreuth, DLR Oberpfaffenhofen and Helmholtz Zentrum München, come from a diverse background of climate change disciplines, achieving long-standing expertise in the field of atmosphere-biosphere-pedo-/hydrosphere research. Additionally, they are devoted to excellent and innovative graduate training and will be supervisors and mentors to the MICMoR Fellows.

Supervisors and mentors supporting MICMoR Fellows automatically attain the status of a MICMoR Scientist, even if not coming from a MICMoR partner institution (e.g. as supervisor of an associate fellow).

These are the current MICMoR Scientists:


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology,
Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research,
Atmospheric Environmental Research (KIT/IMK-IFU)

Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Schmid (Director IMK-IFU)

Dept. Bio-Geo-Chemical Processes

Prof. Dr. Klaus Butterbach-Bahl (Head; Regionalization of Biogenic Trace Gases) 
PD Dr. Ralf Kiese (Ecosystem Matter Fluxes)
PD Dr. Michael Dannenmann (Ecosystem Matter Fluxes)
Dr. Edwin Haas (Regionalization of Biogenic Trace Gases)

Dept. Ecosystem-Atmosphere Interactions

Prof. Dr. Almut Arneth (Head; Plant-Atmosphere Interactions)
Dr. Rainer Steinbrecher (Integrated Land-Atmosphere Surface-Exchange Research, iLASER)
Dr. Peter Werle † (Integrated Land-Atmosphere Surface-Exchange Research, iLASER)
Dr. Matthias Mauder (Transport Processes in the Atmospheric Boundary Layer, TABLe)
Dr. Janina Klatt (Transport Processes in the Atmospheric Boundary Layer, TABLe)

Dept. Regional Climate Systems

Prof. Dr. Harald Kunstmann (Head; Regional Climate and Hydrology)
Dr. Patrick Laux (Regional Climate and Hydrology)
Dr. Peter Suppan (Regional Coupling of Ecosystem-Atmosphere-Processes)
PD Dr. Rüdiger Grote (Regional Coupling of Ecosystem-Atmosphere-Processes)


Technische Universität München (TUM), 
Centre for Life and Food Sciences Weihenstephan

Dept. of Ecology & Ecosystem Management

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kögel-Knabner (Soil Science)
Prof. Dr. Annette Menzel (Ecoclimatology)
Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Schmid (Atmospheric Enviromental Research, see also KIT/IMK-IFU)

Dept. of Plant Sciences

Prof. Dr. Johannes Schnyder (Grassland Science)
Prof. Dr. Urs Schmidhalter (Plant Nutrition)


Ludwig-Maximilians-University München (LMU)

Dept. of Geography

Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig (Physical Geography & Remote Sensing)

Institute of Meteorology

Prof. Dr. George Craig (Theoretical Meteorology)
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Mayer (Experimental Meteorology)
Prof. Dr. Mark Wenig (Trace Gases)


University of Augsburg

Institute for Geography

Prof. Dr. Jucundus Jacobeit (Physical Geography & Quantitative Methods)
Prof. Dr. Karl-Friedrich Wetzel (Physical Geography & Quantitative Methods)
Prof. Dr. Harald Kunstmann (Regional Climate & Hydrology, see also KIT/IMK-IFU)


University of Würzburg

Institute for Geography and Geology

Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech (Remote Sensing)
PD Dr. habil. Christopher Conrad (Remote Sensing)


University of Bayreuth

Bayreuth Centre of Ecology and Ecosystem Research (BayCEER)

Prof. Dr. Carl Beierkuhnlein (Biogeography) 
Prof. Dr. Thomas Foken (Micrometeorology)
Prof. Dr. Andreas Held (Atmospheric Chemistry)
Prof. Dr. Anke Jentsch (Disturbance Ecology)
Prof. Dr. Björn Reineking (Biogeographical Modelling), currently at IRSTEA, Grenoble


Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD)

Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech (Director DFD, Global Change Processes)
Dr. Doris Klein
Dr. Sarah Asam

Institute for Atmospheric Physics (IAP)

Dr. Martin Hagen (Cloud Physics and Traffic Meteorology)
Dr. Hans Schlager (Atmospheric Composition)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF)

Prof. Dr. Irena Hajnsek (Monitoring Earth Dynamics)


Helmholtz Zentrum München (HMGU)

Institute of Soil Ecology (IBOE)

PD Dr. Karin Pritsch (Plant-Soil-System Ecology)
PD Dr. Eckart Priesack (Modelling of Soil Plant Systems)

Institute of Epidemiology II

Dr. Alexandra Schneider (Environmental Risks)


University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (BOKU), Vienna, Austria

Institute of Water Management, Hydrology and Hydraulic Engineering (IWHW)

Prof. Dr. Karsten Schulz

Institute of Soil Research (IBF)

Dr. Eugenio Díaz-Pinés

Technische Universität Dresden

Institute of Hydrology and Meteorology

Prof. Dr. Christian Bernhofer (Director)
Dr. Valeri Goldberg (Meteorology)


University of Freiburg

Institute of Forest Botany and Tree Physiology

Prof. Dr. Heinz Rennenberg (Tree Physiology)


Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology

          Prof. Dr. Alexander Knohl (Bioclimatology)


University of Hamburg

Institute of Geography

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Böhner (Physical Geography)


Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf

Institute of Ecology and Landscape (IÖL)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Drösler (Head of Institute)


German Environment Agency (Umweltbundesamt)

Global Atmosphere Watch Observatory

Dr. Ludwig Ries (Platform Zugspitze)


Nationalparkverwaltung Bayerischer Wald (Bavarian Forest National Park)

Wildlife Ecology and Forest Dynamics

 PD Dr. Marco Heurich (Zoology)


LfL Bayerische Landesanstalt für Landwirtschaft (Bavarian State Research Center for Agriculture)

Institut für Pflanzenbau und Pflanzenzüchtung, Freising

Dr. Stephan Hartmann


Northumbria University, Newcastle, United Kingdom

Dept. of Geography and Environment

Dr. Nick Rutter (Physical Geography)


King's College London, United Kingdom

School of Biomedical Science

Prof. Dr. Martin Williams (Environmental Research Group, Science Policy)


University of Ostrava, Czech Republic

Dept. of Physics

Dr. Vladimír Špunda (Head of Department)

Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic

Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Dept. of Meteorology

Dr. Pavel Sedlák (Head of Department)


Ghent University, Belgium

Department of Applied Analytical and Physical Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Pascal Boeckx (Isotope Bioscience Laboratory)


Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros de Montes

Dr. Agustín Rubio Sánchez


National Research Institute of Science and Technology
for Environment and Agriculture (IRSTEA), France

Research Unit Mountain Ecosystems

Prof. Dr. Thomas Spiegelberger (Climate)


Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL), Switzerland

Soil Sciences

 Prof. Dr. Andreas Gattinger (Climate)

ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Department of Environmental Systems Science

Prof. Dr. Johan Six (Sustainable Agroecosystems)

Agroscope, Zürich, Switzerland

Dr. Christof Ammann (Climate and Air Pollution Group)

The Ohio State University, USA

Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering

Prof. Dr. Gil Bohrer (Ecological Engineering)
Dr. Jeffrey Bielicki (Energy Sustainability)

University of Alberta, Canada

Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Prof. Dr. Arturo Sanchez-Azofeifa


Norwegian Meteorological Institute, Norway

Development Centre for Weather Forecasting, Oslo

Dr. Dr.-Ing. Frederik De Roo